Fremantle Canningvale Welshpool Success Joondalup Applecross Balcatta Victoria Park Belmont Malaga Kinross Perth Osborne Park Western Australia
Cert IV Training & Assessment_Work_Health_Safety_course_Perth
What is a Training Package?


A Training Package is an integrated set of nationally endorsed standards, guidelines and qualifications for a specific industry, sector or workplace.


Each Training Package:

  • provides consistent components for training and assessing/recognising skills (optional support materials may also be provided)
  • enables nationally recognised qualifications to be awarded through direct assessment of workplace competencies
  • emphasises flexible training to support individual and industry requirements
  • encourages learning and assessment in a work-related environment, delivering verifiable workplace outcomes

Training Packages are written to national standards. These are periodically reviewed to ensure Training Packages continue to meet workforce development.


New Standards for Training Packages were introduced in 2012.


What are the new standards for Training Packages?


The National Skills Standards Council (NSSC) released the new Training Package Standards and Policies in response to the former National Quality Council’s VET Products for the 21st century report of 2009. All Industry Skills Councils are in the process of transitioning their training packages to these new standards, which must be completed by December 2015. (See the NSSC Transition Timeline for more information.)

These training package FAQs relate to the new standards. Information regarding the previous training package standards can be found in the training package development handbook


Future changes to TAE40110 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment


  • TAE40116 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment
  • 9 core plus 1 elective = 10 units
  • TAELLN411 (equivalent to TAELLN401) becomes core, other changes to units to meet new standards for Training Packages.
  • Some units require higher level units to be held by assessors of that unit